January 2015 net worth update (-0.3%)

31-Dec-2014 31-Jan-2015 MoM
cash $12,300 $11,400 -$900
savings $47,800 $42,300 -$5,500
investments $164,500 $168,600 +$4,100
+2.5%
mortgage $143,000 $142,300 +$700
+0.5%
net worth $531,600 $530,000 -$1,600
-0.3%
taxable assets – debts $70,600 $75,400 -$4,800
-6.8%
$ until FI $845,000 $713,200 -$131,800
-15.6%

[Note: I updated the investments and net worth numbers 3/1 after I realized I had an error.]

This is a bit late, but these are the numbers as of 1/31. We got back from New Zealand and it was an amazing trip! Such a beautiful country. Thanks to NZMuse and her husband for showing us around a bit while we were in their city :) I’ll post about the trip later – we still need to sort out all of that spending and will probably work on that this weekend.

Kicking the year off with a net worth loss, just like last year. This year’s loss was only $2,700 though compared to last year’s $5,300. Spending wasn’t too bad either as most of the New Zealand trip was in February. I only worked a small bit in January, but if I had seen a normal paycheck, I would not have seen a net worth drop at all – things would have come out about even. January seems like forever ago now!

There is a positive financial note though: this January’s spending was so much lower than last January’s that the rolling 12 month spending total went from $48,045 to $44,012, which caused most of the dramatic drop in the “$ until FI” number.

Expenses: I spent $2,974 in January including the mortgage or $1,946 without it. Some of my controllable expenses broke down as follows:

  • $242 Clothing – a new pair of black leggings and two pairs of pants, plus 9 pairs of socks since all of the ones I bought in early 2014 now have holes in them. Not very exciting.
  • $261 Entertainment/Social [average last year: $211] – I originally set out trying to spend less money during my unemployment, but then I had all this new found time to hang out with friends while not stressed out! So I did and I had fun.
  • $12 Eating out by myself [average last year: $18]
  • $89 Groceries [average last year: $185] – We somehow managed to spend exactly $0.15 less on groceries in January than in December. This was low since we left partway through the month.
  • $44 Work lunches [average last year: $147] – There weren’t too many work days in January :)
  • A big chunk of charitable donations, that I’ve mostly saved up for – just need one paycheck to be able to finish covering it! I’ll be fully prepared for this next January.
  • $23 Presents – a straggling Christmas present that I needed to pay someone back for.
  • $83 Internet – I overpaid as I was playing around with something payment-wise. It’ll be negative in February to compensate.
  • $161 Travel health insurance for 4 weeks outside of the US
  • $20 Eyebrows
  • $23 Toiletries [average last year: $33] – moisturizer, ointment, bandaids, and shaving cream while in New Zealand.
  • ($47) Furnishings – returning the wood swatches and buying some silicone spoons with a post-Christmas sale
  • $70 Car maintenance – an overdue oil change and wiper blade replacement
  • $243 Travel – cash, a bit of food, maps for the GPS, a New Zealand SIM card, and a cave tour. There will be at least ten times this in February’s report…

Savings: $47,800 (down $5,500)

These funds are spread across a checking account that gets free ATM fees anywhere in the world, my health savings account, a savings account at my credit union, and a bit of a buffer in my credit union checking account.

This is down from making my full 2015 Roth IRA contribution.

Investments: $168,600 (up $4,100 or +2.5%)

This includes my Roth and Traditional 401(k), my 401(k) employer matching (fully vested!), my Roth IRA, my taxable investments including stock index funds and Series I Savings Bonds.

The change here comes from:

  1. Making my full 2015 Roth IRA contribution
  2. ~$1,500 in stock market losses

Mortgage: $142,300 (down $700 or -0.5%)

Some statistics here:

  • 2.5%: the interest rate on my 5/1 ARM
  • January 2018: when the interest rate on my mortgage is set to reset, possibly to 7.5%
  • 0: months of payments eliminated with this month’s pre-payments
  • $0: extra payments made on the mortgage this month
  • $0: interest this month’s extra payments will save me on the next regular payment
  • 29.0%: portion of my regular payment went to interest (originally was 59%; down 1.0 percentage points)
  • 60.3%: amount of equity in my condo, assuming purchase price (up 0.3 percentage points)
  • 50.2%: amount of the mortgage I’ve paid down (up 0.2 percentage points)
  • $24,500: amount extra remaining to pay to be on track at the end of 2015 to pay the mortgage off before the rate resets in 2018

I’m just letting the regular, automatic payment go for now. Nothing special to see here.

TOTAL: $530,000 (down $1,600 or -0.3%)

I ended 2014 with a net worth of $531,600, so I’ve seen a change of -$1,600 or -0.3% so far this year. I’m going to set the y-axis on this graph to $650,000 so we can see how my net worth grows towards that throughout the year, but I’m too lazy to make the graph right now since it’s already almost the end of February and I’ll have to make another one next week.

4 thoughts on “January 2015 net worth update (-0.3%)

  1. So glad you had a fun trip, can’t wait to read more about it. And it’s probably good for your net worth to go down every once in awhile- means you are enjoying life!

    • You had a similar comment that it’s healthy to spend all of your net income sometimes when I did that one month! I’m not really phased by this at all – in fact, I wish I’d taken even more time off work! I have plenty in savings that I could take off work for a while if I wanted to. I have a feeling I’ll love the new job though and I am getting a bit bored!

  2. Great job keeping the expenses down in January! I was on the opposite end of the spectrum, spending over $6k. To be fair, my annual property taxes and six months of auto insurance were include in that number.

    MDP

    • Thanks! Over $6k is pretty good for that including your annual property taxes and six months of auto insurance! Those two items alone for me would be just over $5k. Thankfully the county asks us to pay the property taxes in two installments, which smooths it out a bit more. My February expenses were much higher.

Comments are closed.