A New Beginning: New Job

You guys have probably noticed with all my posts about financial independence and why I save that I’ve been a bit bored lately. I definitely haven’t been happy or interested in my work very well over the last half-year or so and before that, I was distracted by my condo buying adventures. I spent about three years in my previous position and feel like I had learned all I was going to learn in it, so it was time for a change.

I am very fortunate to work in an industry where there are (currently) plenty of job opportunities and it is good for your career to change positions. I am also fortunate to work for a company where I can change groups (re: work on a different “product”), without changing my job title or losing any benefits.

2012 has been a year full of new beginnings. I moved (twice!), bought a condo, started a serious relationship, and now, I’m starting a new job. It’s definitely taken me some time to see it as a new job, but that’s really what it is.

Some things are the same:

  1. My job title
  2. Who is providing my paychecks
  3. My direct deposit info
  4. My 401(k) matching
  5. My health insurance
  6. My salary
  7. My stock bonuses

Some things are different:

  1. My office building
  2. My commute
  3. My coworkers and my manager
  4. The “product” that I am working on

The work is completely different from anything I’ve done before, which will be an excellent challenge. There should be great technical challenges, as well as leadership opportunities. Plus, I get to work on a product that I believe in, surrounded by other people who also believe in the product. I’m optimistic that this will be a good change both career-wise and life-wise.

Financially, this doesn’t have any immediate impact, but I have a feeling it will result in better raises and more stock bonuses over the next few years than staying in my previous position would have.

Readers, how long do you normally stay in a particular job in your industry?

26 thoughts on “A New Beginning: New Job

  1. We are going through the hiring process at my job and it’s fascinating to look at all the resumes. I’ve been surprised at how much people move around. I had assumed that people generally stayed at companies for at least 3 years, but I’m seeing a lot of jobs held for one year.

    • Personally, I think that one year is a little short for the most part, so I would be surprised at that as well! I think that 2-5 years is probably reasonable in my field. Any less is seen as flighty and any longer is seen as not adaptable.

  2. 1.5 years, 1.5 years, 2.5 years… and this year has been weird because I’ve had about 3 different “jobs’, though mostly working with the same people, so i count it as one. Except for the first job, they are all at the same company. But, like you, I can change jobs/product/programs completely while still keeping the same company. I haven’t changed sites (same commute), but definitely coworkers, buildings/offices.

    While I think it is possible to continue to find growth in the same job (particularly since our development cycles are REALLY LONG), sometimes it is easiest to start fresh.

    Good luck on your new adventure! What a GREAT year for you!

    • I love being able to change groups/products/programs/jobs within the same company! It sure makes life a lot less stressful :) It almost makes it not seem like a new job, but it totally is! My company has enough buildings that the new group offers a new commute! That’s a bonus bit of fresh air.

      Thanks!! Good luck with your three different “jobs” this year! Does that make your end-of-year review more complicated than normal?

  3. I’ve been in my (first) job for 3+ years now. I’m starting to feel the need for a change, but that would likely involve moving to a new city for me if I wanted to stay in the same field. Not sure I’m ready for that.

    • Moving to a new city is definitely expensive, financially and socially! I wouldn’t consider doing that again for many years hopefully – I quite like my city.

  4. Congrats, you are having such a great year! I’ve always worked for smaller companies but a huge advantage of large companies seems to be that you can change jobs/roles without changing companies.

    There’s no pattern to my job tenure in different positions. I’ve been in my current job for almost 5 years. Sometimes a change sounds nice, but I also think there are benefits to being with a company for awhile. Since my office is small, a job change would require finding a totally new company.

    • That’s definitely why I chose a large company for my first job out of college! Staying at a company for awhile is quite nice. I have a good amount of vacation pre-accrued and get a good amount each year now, my 401(k) matching (and future ones) are vested, I have a good review history, and I have a pretty nice amount of stock shares waiting to vest.

  5. Sounds exciting. My sister is about to leave her (huge) company because they promised her a new project and position but that has been moved back a year. She may even change industries. Me, I’m still on my first job, but getting the 7 year itch.

    • That sucks. Big companies can definitely be bad for that. Then they can do funky things that screw with your ability to change teams. What would your sister change industries to?

        • Perhaps a different engineering company would be a better value add to society? What I do has less value to society than say a teacher or a mechanic, but at least it’s more value than firms that chase patents and try to sue companies over them?

        • Aha, that makes way more sense! That’s a really good idea. Good luck to her! It took me a couple of months to find a new position that I wanted and I didn’t even go through the normal interview process.

  6. Good luck with the new adventure. Hope you enjoy it. Will your commute be better or worse with this change? I ask because of the post you made a couple of weeks ago about walking in the dark…

    • Thanks! I think it will actually be better. It’s a little bit further, but the walk is through more well-lit areas and there are actually public transportation options.

  7. Congrats! Definitely sounds like an exciting change for you.

    I stayed for over 6 years at mine, and it is definitely something I would change if I could. 2-5 years definitely sounds like a good time to be at a position.

    • Thanks! Six years sounds like such a long time to me! They say a year to learn how to do your job, a year to do your job, and a year to be a leader in the group, so three years is a sweet spot.

  8. Congrats on all the success you’ve had this year! I also started a new job this year, but for a new company. Work is a lot easier (and more fun) when you get to work on something you actually believe in.

    Best wishes!

    • Thanks! Congrats on your new job as well. I hope you’re enjoying it more than your last one. I definitely agree on work being better when you get to work on something you actually believe in! You’re so much more motivated to do your work.

  9. Congratulations on your new job and all the fun stuff this year brought you! As a nurse, I would like to stay in my department for several years. In fact, I am still working the only two nursing jobs I’ve ever had, I’ve been at one for 5 years and the other for 2 years ;)

    • Thanks! I feel like with nursing perhaps it’s better for your career to stay in the same department for a longer period of time? Do most people stay in the same department for many, many years?

      • Yes, many do stay in the same department for several year. Although I don’t know what the average is….I also know of some coworkers who jump around every 6 months to a year, it really depends on the person. The awesome thing is that there is so much flexibility to move whenever you are over it.

  10. There’s nothing wrong with moving jobs, especially when you work for an amenable employer. I’d say you’ve made a smart move because you’ll be happier learning new things and you’re also making yourself a better-rounded employee.

Comments are closed.