September 2012 net worth update (+3.6%)

Ah, September. Well, fall has arrived now. It is pretty chilly walking to work in the mornings, though it’s still pretty warm in the afternoon walking home!

There was a last-minute, whirlwind road trip with my dad, which, ignoring the circumstances, was kind of fun. We went somewhere I hadn’t been in years (since high school, really) and it was absolutely gorgeous driving back. We took my car since it gets way better fuel consumption than his and so in return, he paid for my gas! I got a couple of free tanks of gas (yes, that’s how much driving the road trip was) and a lot of quality time with my dad. :)

My secondary summer sport has ended and my winter one starts up soon, which I’m pretty excited for. I’m also excited, strangely enough, that fall TV has started and I can cancel my Netflix account. I tend to binge on Netflix, which is baaaad. Normal TV is healthier because I TiVo stuff and then only watch what I’ve TiVo’d.

In more exciting news: my boyfriend and I are planning some trips, namely flying to see his family for Thanksgiving and a weekend away near here earlier in November. We haven’t quite decided where we’re going yet, but we laughed about the fact that we’ll be splitting stuff (since we both earn a good income), which increases the travel budget :) I sure hate having to track when I can take vacation with the accrual formulas though.

That’s enough about life! Now for the financial update. It seems like each month this year, there has been at least one of: 1) high spending, 2) bonus, 3) family gift money, and 4) stock market rallying. This month definitely had the fourth one as when I checked on my net worth at any point during the month, it was a positive increase.

Cash: $9,800 (same)

Expenses came in at $4,300 this month. I’m blaming the clothes shopping, oh well. I’m getting much better at not worrying so much about spending when I am still saving ~50% of my net pay. In October, I have to pay the property taxes, so this will probably go down since, so far, I’ve been accumulating the funds here to pay the property taxes.

Savings: $27,100 (up $1,000 or +3.8%)

Reserves includes my auto insurance deductible ($1,000), renter’s insurance deductible ($500), and health insurance deductible ($950), as well as 6 months expenses at $3,600 per month and the interest accumulated.

I’m also keeping a condo section around for now to cover small things that I’m planning on buying for the condo. I’m not adding to it, but I’ll let it collect some interest.

Investments: $67,000 (up $3,200 or +5.0%)

This includes my Roth and Traditional 401(k), my Roth IRA, and my taxable investments. I also include the employer matching in my 401(k) since I don’t plan on leaving my employer until the 401(k) matching has vested. Obviously if I did lose the matching, that would be reflected in my net worth in the month that I left my employer.

This was about half contributions, about $600 of dividends posting, and the rest market gains. I’m looking forward to this possibly hitting $70k in the next few months :)

Mortgage: $266,600 (down $2,500 or -0.9%)

The loan is a 5/1 ARM mortgage at 3.000%. You might think I’m crazy for taking out a 5/1 ARM, but the way that I look at it is that it’s the best rate I can get and I will either pay it off in 5 years with the money that would have gone to cash savings had I not bought a place or I will move shortly after that.

I now own > 25% of my condo!

I made $2,100 in principal only payments in September. The regular payment in September saw about $30 less go to interest than August’s regular payment. (With no pre-payments, normal drop-offs are about $1-2 per month.)

I estimate that the mortgage length is now down from August’s 27 years, 5 months to 27 years, 1 months. I eliminated 4 months of payments with this month’s pre-payments. This means that in ~3 months of making payments of some sort on the mortgage, I have paid down 3 years and 1 month worth of the mortgage. That is pretty freaking awesome!!!

To reach my end-of-year mortgage balance goal, I need to make about $1,200 in additional pre-payments. That is looking pretty likely since I should pre-pay at least $2,000 again from October’s paycheck. I will likely be about $5-7k ahead of the end-of-year mortgage balance goal to be on the 5 year pay-off plan.

TOTAL: $195,300 (up $6,700 or +3.6%)

I started 2012 out with a net worth of $132,500, so I’ve seen a change of $62,800 or +47.4% so far this year. The y-axis on the below graph is set at $200,000, which I’m definitely edging towards with three months left in the year.

January / February / March / April / May / June / July / August

19 thoughts on “September 2012 net worth update (+3.6%)

  1. Looking good! How did I not know you walk to work! I was able to do that many years back and LOVED it! Not to mention all the money walking vs driving saves.

    • Money, stress, walking to work saves so many things. If I can help it, I will always be able to walk to work. Also, buying a condo “in the city” without being able to walk to work would have been a high purchase price for not much gain (in my opinion). I drive occasionally (usually about once a week) so that it’s easier to get to after-work commitments, but other than that, I walk.

  2. Congrats on the great month Leigh! I’ve traveled a fair amount of Western Europe, and Barcelona was my favorite city that I visited. Keep us updated on the trip!

    • Thanks! I’ve done quite a bit of traveling around Europe too, so I’m letting my boyfriend have more of a say in where we go. I’ll definitely talk about the trip on the blog!

  3. Looks like a good month, and more to come. I did a ton of traveling this summer so I’ll probably be taking a little break for the next few months. But it’s definitely the one thing I like to splurge on, there’s so much good stuff to see around the world(and don’t forget about the US!)

    • Thanks! I think 30% will take until maybe January or February? To pay off the mortgage in 5 years starting with 20% down means paying down approximately 16% of the loan each year.

      Graphs are sooooo powerful! I have a year-over-year graph as well and that has been super motivating to see the progress. I also have one comparing the mortgage paydown to the five-year plan, to no pre-payments, and the actual projection. That’s pretty awesome to see :D

Comments are closed.