May 2012 net worth update (+1.1%)

In May, I saw some RSUs vest, which was a nice extra. 20% of the gross went to my taxable investment account and the rest of the net went to my down payment savings account. I’ve also started putting some money into my taxable investment account from my paycheck to make sure I’m investing 20% of the gross including my 401(k) contributions and employer match. My savings surpassed the $100,000 marker, which is quite exciting!

Cash: $7,900 (down $300)

May was a pretty normal spending month, with some travel expenses included.

Savings: $100,200 (up $2,400 or +2.4%)

  • Vehicle replacement: $4,000 (+$200)
  • Down payment: $72,100 (+$2,200)
  • Reserves: $24,100 (same)

Reserves includes my auto insurance deductible ($1,000), renter’s insurance deductible ($500), and health insurance deductible ($950), as well as 6 months expenses at $3,600 per month and the interest accumulated.

I’m fidgeting a bit between the down payment and vehicle replacement savings accounts. If I need to replace my car before I buy a condo/house and I didn’t have enough money in my vehicle replacement fund, I would just take the money from the down payment fund (this is what I did when I bought my car). If I buy a condo/house before I need to replace my car, I would probably throw all of my vehicle replacement savings at it so that I have a lower mortgage, can pay it off quicker, and can then cash flow buying a car. Some people might just combine them with that the case, but I’m going to continue to maintain them separately for now. I like having that separation psychologically. I may also just top up the vehicle replacement fund for the year with my July RSU vest instead of moving $250 there each month. We’ll see.

I moved the money from my down payment savings account to top up April’s investment contribution to 20% of my gross pay.

My overall savings surpassed the $100,000 marker this month!

Investments: $51,400 (down $400 or -0.8%)

This includes my Roth and Traditional 401(k), my Roth IRA, and my taxable investments. I also include the employer matching in my 401(k) since I don’t plan on leaving my employer until the 401(k) matching has vested. Obviously if I did lose the matching, that would be reflected in my net worth in the month that I left my employer.

This month saw my automatic 401(k) contribution, putting me at ~1/3 of the way towards maxing out my 401(k) account for the 2012 year.

I also moved 20% of the gross of my RSU vest to my taxable account, in addition to the top up from my April and May paychecks. I’m keeping the money in my taxable account in a money market fund until the July RSU vest. I’m doing some math and making sure that I’m confident in the fund that I’m choosing to invest in with my taxable investing money.

The markets weren’t very good this month because I definitely put some money into this grouping this month! Oh well, that’s a good thing for my early June 401(k) contribution :)

*Note that the market values were also calculated at EOD on May 30th, not May 31st and will be updated accordingly later.

TOTAL: $159,500 (up $1,700 or +1.1%)

I started 2012 out with a net worth of $132,500, so I’ve seen a change of $27,000 or +20.4% so far this year. And here is a pretty graph of my net worth so far this year:

9 thoughts on “May 2012 net worth update (+1.1%)

    • Thanks! My cash flow was better than normal this month, so I was a bit sad to see a lower than “normal” net worth increase because of investments :(

      (I would say that a “normal” net worth increase, if the markets stay flat, would be about +$3,000 for the month.)

    • Thanks! I was super happy to hit that since I doubt I’ll see it again, what with that whole buying a condo in the future thing and wiping out a good portion of that savings…

  1. I do not get RSU’s as I work in non-profit. How do they distribute and how is the value calculated for IRS reporting? Does it work like a dividend?

    • Say my company trades as XYZ in the stock exchange. My grant is for N shares over period M, split into shares N1, N2, N3, N4, etc. on dates M1, M2, M3, M4, etc.. At some point on the day of vesting, e.g. M1, the brokerage firm my employer uses makes an order to buy N1 shares of XYZ. I have it set to sell all, so the brokerage firm also creates an order to sell N1 shares of XYZ, otherwise it would just create an order to sell enough shares to cover the income taxes I owe.

      My gross income (reported to IRS) is N1 x the price of XYZ at the time of the buy order. All income taxes, including Social Security and Medicare are then calculated on that amount and that is also my cost basis.

      If I keep some shares, then that is used as the cost basis when I later sell them. I don’t keep any shares anymore though – I get way too many. (This year, it will be somewhere in the range of $30,000.)

Comments are closed.