What to do with discretionary savings?

At the moment, I am investing 20% of my gross income towards retirement, saving $166.67 per month towards vacations, the first $3,000 towards car replacement and the remaining amount towards a down payment. But after I purchase property, how should I direct the remaining amount when that is quite substantial?

First of all, I will up my vacations budget from $2,000 per year to $3,000 per year or $250 per month.

Car replacement of $3,000 per year is $250 per month. I’m going to consider working that into a monthly savings plan.

My current idea for the remaining amount is to split it 50/50 between pre-paying the mortgage (~4.00% return) and investing towards retirement.

I’m going to try copying February’s budget and see where the specific numbers fall as to how much mortgage payment is too much when I still want to have some buffer funds each month and how much discretionary savings I will likely have next year.

2 thoughts on “What to do with discretionary savings?

Comments are closed.