Buying a place: Property Search and Life Decisions

I have spent so much time doing math. I know that it makes financial sense to buy. I know how much I can realistically afford to spend per month and how much I am comfortable borrowing. I know that I want to stay in my current city for at least the next 6 years.

I’ve started looking at places, in person. I think I have a good idea now of what I’m looking for inside, but I’m having a hard time making the distance vs. price trade-off.

I think I have pretty much decided at this point that I *want* to buy in the next couple of months and I would strongly consider going month-to-month on my lease if I don’t find a place quite in time or I need a little bit of time to do renovations though that would make cash flow a little tight to pay rent plus a mortgage payment in the same month.

I always, like Krystal, thought that I would buy a place with someone. I also thought I would be at least in my late twenties before I even considered buying a place. After college, the pieces fell into place quite nicely: I finished college somewhat young with an amazing salary, a job that I love and is quite stable, and made the smart decision of moving to a city where I would consider staying long-term. The piece of a significant other isn’t there, but that’s okay. I can most definitely afford this on my own with my income.

