June update: Asset Calculations

June was a busy month and I didn’t have a lot of time to blog. Things are still busy outside of work now, so I’ve been slower than usual at doing my end-of-month report and I think I’m going to do my June update in several parts.

My end-of-month report starts with…

Asset calculations:

  1. Summing up accounts by group (Cash, Savings, Investments) and subgroup (Savings: General, Vehicle, Down Payment; Investments: Taxable, 401(k), Roth IRA).
  2. Looking at my total assets and determining how much I am up dollars-wise and percentage-wise this month and year-to-date.
  3. Calculating how much my net worth needs to grow by to reach my net worth goal for the year and an average of that number per month.
  4. Calculating how many months my investments would last for at $3,000 per month.
  5. Comparing each of my savings/investments subgroup amounts to the year-end goal.

As I predicted last month due to 401(k) contributions debiting/crediting, my net worth growth in June was lower than normal – “This means that my net worth growth this month [May] is higher than it should be and next month [June] it will be lower than it should be (credit of 4%, debit of 23%). That’s okay.”

I am definitely still on track to meet my net worth goal for the year. I could hit it as early as October or November, so I will definitely hit it by December. That depends on the size of my bonus this month.

