April Personal finance links round-up

Well apparently I starred quite a few posts in my Google Reader this week! I don’t know how – it’s been absolutely gorgeous here. Hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend :)

Canadian Couch Potato shared why daily market commentary is a joke. I particularly enjoyed his analogy, once I finally got it.

Free Money Finance shared a reader profile of a woman in her mid-twenties who wants to stay in her small hometown. I’m definitely glad that I moved out of my hometown, but it’s also incredible that this young woman knows what she wants at her age for so many life decisions. Some might say that I do, but I am most definitely single.

Krystal at Give Me Back My Five Bucks discussed when minimalism and personal finance collide. I am definitely not a minimalist – I am planning on buying a two bedroom condo just for myself :) That said, I do try to keep a limit on the quantity of shoes and clothes that I own.

Mr. Money Mustache guest posted at Financial Samurai about how early retirement is not as risky as you might think. As someone who is actively thinking about this, I really enjoyed the graphs and numbers that MMM shared, just as I do on his blog.

PFBlogWatchDog told us why you should use 5 year CDs for your emergency fund. I’m definitely a fan of that idea!

Meg at World of Wealth shared a story about a new friend with a different perspective on wealth. This is something that I’ve been thinking about a lot lately as well, as I encounter more and more people at similar income levels, but everyone has a different idea of how to spend and save their money or what wealth feels like to them.

I Am 1 Percent talked about why it is important to identify your talents early (if possible). I know I’m a bit of an oddball, but I knew what I wanted to do when I was pretty young and I’m definitely reaping the rewards from that knowledge.

Kevin at Thousandaire asked if you could go without a car. I ran that experiment when I first moved to my current city after college and survived for almost a year with a combination of a car sharing program and public transit. Eventually for my use cases, the cost of the car sharing program exceeded the costs of car ownership, so I bought a car. I’m glad I waited, but I’m also glad to have the car now.

Kathryn shared a crazy story about when you should fire a broker. I’m glad that I never got caught in the financial advisor trap!

Emily and Kyle of Evolving Personal Finance shared five money-saving moves from their wedding. I loved their ideas, even ignoring the fact that it saved them some money. Who doesn’t want to have a wedding reception in a science museum or at a family home? That sounds pretty awesome to me!

Nicole and Maggie of Grumpy Rumblings asked their readers what they would do if they didn’t have (to have) a job. There were a lot of fascinating answers to that question :)

  1. #1 by kathrynsconversations.com on April 15, 2012 - 11:14 am

    Thank you for the link! PS I like your strategy on Netflix. I hadn’t thought of that. I am a big Netflix streaming fan…..just watched Page One, about the NY times. Loved it.
    Have a great weekend and thanks again.

    • #2 by Leigh on April 15, 2012 - 11:23 am

      I actually think I might not re-activate Netflix this summer. Last summer, I would always binge on movies or TV shows instead of doing more interesting things. I’m finding that Pandora on in the background is sufficient for “background noise”. We’ll see!

  2. #3 by Emily @ evolvingPF on April 15, 2012 - 6:21 pm

    Thanks for the mention! I like your car strategy that you wrote about in response to Kevin’s post. That was a really smart way to evaluate whether or not you needed the car. Now you don’t have to worry about whether or not it was worth it!

    • #4 by Leigh on April 15, 2012 - 9:16 pm

      Yup! I kept the spreadsheet up for the first 8 months or so after buying the car and then I decided I’d had enough. It’s close enough in cost that I decided to call it a wash for the sake of convenience of having my own car. I also slightly cheated and didn’t track usage in the months where it’s super low, haha. But you’re right, I don’t worry about whether or not it was worth it anymore after spending those months with the spreadsheet! :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers

