Why Sweat the Small Stuff?

Most personal finance blogs will tell you that cutting out the lunches and daily coffees. $4 per day for coffee is $120 per month! That’s $1,440 per year. And I’m sorry, but I’m going to call that piddly squat. If I want to spend $4 per day for coffee, then it will go in my spending plan.

I’m not a coffee drinker, but that’s a good example of how I have constructed my spending plan.

I go for lunch every day with my team. That’s starting to add up to quite a bit, so I could have chosen to bring my lunch some days instead of eating out every day, but I chose instead to up my budget for lunches. That’s called conscious spending.

  1. #1 by TJ on March 11, 2012 - 2:12 pm

    Agreed 1000%.

    While I think everyone would be wise to think critically in how they choose to spend their money, my opinion is that it’s missing the forest for the trees to be frugal without having long term saving goals in conjunction.

    It’s all a lifestyle choice, but I feel like a lot of the people who are saving on coffees without a plan, might just blow it on something else.

    I guess you could call it “conscious savings” ? :)

    • #2 by Leigh on March 22, 2012 - 11:23 pm

      I so agree with you on the coffees!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

